Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

This semi-autobiographical saga details just a few harrowing minutes in one man’s life, but it reads like a cathartic reflection in the tradition of Hunter S. Thompson’s Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.

Screen Shot 2013-08-05 at 10.58.47 AM

The chapter is raw. Beginning in the grungy third-world streets of Thailand, the reader is wrapped around the sweaty, callused fingers of the narrator, who is fighting off both a sensational Muey Thai boxer with quick reflexes and endurance, and thoughts of the girl he left behind without an explanation. The fight that ensues is almost a pop culture ride, told in the inner dialogue of the white boxer far from home, complete with references spanning the globe, from America to the no-rules ring shared by the “young cat” and the narrator himself. Indeed, throughout the story it feels almost as though our boxer is building himself a safety net around the ring with his pleas and questions towards those like Nadine, just feet outside the ring, and those back home, whom he has no connection to except through the pulsing conservations in his mind.

An exploration of consciousness and the links between the physical and mental, Full Contact engrosses the reader with its raw impurities, and reads like a gripping novel, condensed into a powerhouse seventeen pages that beg to be turned.

 

Number of Pages: 17

Recommended For: a plane ride, a hot afternoon, a sweltering evening

Enjoy it With: a glass of cold water

For fans of: boxing, martial arts, pop culture, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

Best Place to Buy It: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00845OWKC

Advertisements